NEW YORK - Governor Andrew Cuomo on Wednesday announced a travel advisory is now in place for visitors coming to the tri-state area from states that have seen a spike in coronavirus cases.

Cuomo, who was joined by New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy and Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont, says those coming from states with positive coronavirus transmission rates over 10 percent of the total population on a seven day rolling average will require a 14-day quarantine.

“We are announcing today a joint travel advisory," Cuomo said. "People coming in from states that have a high infection rate must quarantine for 14 days. We have a calibration for the infection rate. And any state that goes over that infection rate, that state will be subject to the quarantine.”

It goes into effect beginning 12 a.m. Thursday.

Cuomo had been considering the idea for several weeks. 

That currently includes Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas, Utah and Washington.

Those violating the quarantine could face up to a $10,000 fine.

Cuomo says they are trying to prevent a resurgence, with New York now among the states seeing the lowest number of cases in the nation.

But he admits the quarantine will be difficult to enforce, adding that he can't legally block people from coming here. 

“None of the quarantines have stopped people," Cuomo said. "It’s not that you’ve ever prohibited someone from entering a state. That is not quarantine, that is a blockade. That’s what the federal government threatened to do to us at one point. And I said that would start a civil war.”

While the city entered Phase Two reopening on Monday, Governor Cuomo says the Finger Lakes, Southern Tier, North Country, Central New York and Mohawk Valley regions will enter Phase Four on Friday.

Under Phase Four, indoor religious gatherings can go up to 33 percent occupancy from 25 percent. Social gatherings can also go up to 50 people from 25 in phase three.

Additionally, sports can resume across the state under Phase Four. As a result, Governor Cuomo announced that the Yankees and Mets will begin spring training in New York on July 1.